Elbow Patches and Grandpa Slippers

Written by Amelia

This is about the time of year when I start to get sick of summer. The fourth of July is over, my summer vacation has come and gone, and the heat feels more and more oppressive each day. I start longing for cooler weather, sweaters, boots, tweed blazers, and warm knit accessories. This longing can only mean one thing: back-to-school shopping.

Every year for well over 20 years, I’ve gone back-to-school shopping. This year, however, is different. This teacher ain’t goin’ back to school, y’all!

That being said, I will not deprive myself of the joyous occasion that is back-to-school shopping, but I am on a strict budget. I’ll look for affordable vintage and thrift store versions of all the autumnal items I want.

Details:

  • plaid blazer – I love the look of a belted blazer, and the print on this one is great. Plus, you can never go wrong with elbow patches
  • coach bag –  The shape and size are perfect, but I’d probably look for an older one at a thrift store to get some leather with a nice, worn patina.
  • equestrian boots – I already have a pair, and they’re more like beloved pets than footwear. I love them that much. I can’t wait to bust those suckers out again!
  • circle skirt pattern – A photo of a perfectly full wool plaid circle skirt has evaded me, but this pattern looks pretty damn cute. Maybe I’ll get ambitious and attempt to make one.
  • embroidered miu miu loafers – Yes, I will wear what are essentially grandpa slippers. And it will be awesome.

Anyone else longing for fall?



Categories: Career

Tags: , , , ,

7 replies

  1. Autumn is actually my favorite season. While the oppressive heat of summer drains me, I feel energized with the cooler temps. Looking forward to sweater weather!

  2. I am looking forward to fall mostly because this will be my last semester in college! I graduate in December. Woot. Autumn always keeps me excited for tea, Halloween, leaves, and my favorite color: ORANGE! I’m so pumped!

  3. I’m with your Cathy and Bernie. How about the food, too? Baked pumpkin and apple goodies, soup, cider, hot cocoa… Mmmm… no season tastes as good as fall.

  4. Cozy socks, oversized sweatshirts, bumbling around the kitchen making apple crisp and a great pot of soup. I can’t wait. Good-bye summer!

  5. Booo! Fall is actually my least favorite season. The days get shorter, the weather gets colder, and unlike winter, there’s no chance of snow days or Christmas! 🙂

    • You are the first and only person I have ever heard say this! I can’t believe it. What about Fall food? Surely you like cinnamon and nutmeg or even just the smell of apple pie?! Good point about the snow days…but if you’re lucky, it could happen 🙂

  6. #1 – You can go school shopping for me ANY TIME! =)
    #2 – I love fall, because its cool weather and soft breezes elicit lots of snuggling (at least for me). But, I hate letting go of summer. Even though I hate days like today, when it feels too hot to step out of the house, a big part of me doesn’t want it to end. If I lived near a beach though, I’d never want it to end! =)
    Mea

Leave a comment